Christel Carlson

Where were you born and raised;

San Marcos Texas at the Air Force base . Father in Air Force. Grew up in Texas, Mississippi,

California, Japan, Florida, Kansas,

Educational background; numerous schools till high school graduated choctawhatchee high

school in ft walton Bch fl , attended okaloosa walton jr college, then univ of Florida

gainesville for degree in basic biological and medical sciences, medical school, and residency

in anesthesia. Spent time in Houston Texas at Texas heart for cardiovascular anesthesia

fellowship and at Shands hospital in Gainesville for neurosurgical anesthesia fellowship

Brief employment history: Shands hospital univ of Florida faculty, then 9 months at alachua

general hospital in Gainesville Florida . Moved to spokane and joined anesthesia group

working at sacred heart hospital 85-2012. Now work for providence medical group since 2012

Earliest horse memory: riding my great uncles pony who liked to run off, put his head down

fast so he could pull you off his back (no saddle of course) learning to saddle a horse in

Amarillo Texas —the cowboys gave me a pancake saddle (English) since I couldn't lift a

western saddle up on the horses back about first grade . Riding at Fuchinobe riding school in

Japan to ride cross country, stadium and dressage (junior high) riding at wimberely riding

school in niceville florida thru high school. Riding at the horse teaching unit at the univ of

Florida college of agriculture . Buying my first horse as I was finishing medical school in

1981-‘Brick’ did jumpers, then Evented, then made it to Grand Prix in dressage and gave my

daughter her first trail rides and lunge lessons.

Hobbies other than riding: hiking, running, photography, writing, family trips and travel,

supporting my daughter's activities , reading when I can stay awake long enough too, learning

new things and subjects (the constant annoyance of my family) visiting battlefields ,

gardening, newest—welding

Heroes and inspirations; the person facing a devastating diagnosis who continues to inspire

others and live a life filled with gratitude and wonder. My mother and my father. Mrs

almond my high school math club advisor and calculus teacher. Mr moriwaki my Jr high

science teacher members of the generation that fought in WWII and came back home,”I just

did what I had to”, no praise expected or needed or received Women who led in traditional

male fields

Anything folks would be surprised to learn about you: that I am trained in acupuncure and

love helping people with eastern as well as western trained medicine that I have two

younger sisters and three sisters that died shortly after birth.

That I am a soft heart and always have a menagerie of rescued animals. That I have a pet

chicken, henny penny, who knocks on the kitchen door to come in for dry cat food and joins

my two dogs and two cats for breakfast some days

Where do you hope to be in 10 years the green side of the grass , visiting with my daughter

maybe even a grandkid to play with , riding and traveling

Christel carlson